
What's Your Unit Worth Right Now?
Get a free AI-powered price range for your condo in under 90 seconds — floor, exposure, view, parking and locker included. No name or address required.
Get My Free Estimate →The Kitec settlement fund was US$125,000,000 and the claims deadline was 9 January 2020 — both confirmed on the official settlement website, which also records approval by courts in Texas, Ontario and Québec. The claims period is closed and the last status update was 20 October 2020. The affected products were sold under nine brand names, not one: Kitec, PlumbBetter, IPEX AQUA, WarmRite, Kitec XPA, AmbioComfort, XPA, KERR Controls and Plomberie Améliorée. What is not verifiable from any primary source is the range of years it was manufactured or installed — the settlement site does not state it, and no Health Canada recall, TSSA or ESA publication or Ontario government guidance on Kitec could be located.
Kitec is the plumbing brand that turns up on a status certificate or an inspection report and stops a deal. It is worth knowing exactly what is established about it and what is not, because the gap between those two things is unusually wide.
An unusual disclosure for this site. This is the weakest topic on the site for primary sources, and the page says so rather than dressing it up. There is no Health Canada recall notice, no Technical Standards and Safety Authority publication, no Electrical Safety Authority publication and no Ontario government guidance on Kitec that I could locate. The one authoritative source is the court-appointed settlement administrator’s website. One search route — the federal recalls database — is blocked to automated retrieval, so I cannot state that no recall exists; only that I could not find one.
What is actually established
| Fact | Source |
|---|---|
| Settlement fund of US$125,000,000 | Official settlement website FAQ |
| Claims deadline of 9 January 2020 | Official settlement website FAQ |
| Approved by three courts: the US District Court for the Northern District of Texas, the Ontario Superior Court of Justice, and the Superior Court of Québec | Official settlement website FAQ |
| The claims period is closed and the case is in administration | Case status page, last updated 20 October 2020 |
| Roughly 10,000 claims were received before the deadline | Case status page |
The products covered are described as “PEX-AL-PEX, PE-AL-PE, PERT-AL-PERT, PEX pipe, valves, fittings, and/or components, manufactured by or on behalf of IPEX”, under the brand names Kitec, PlumbBetter, IPEX AQUA, WarmRite, Kitec XPA, AmbioComfort, XPA, KERR Controls and Plomberie Améliorée.
That brand list is the single most practically useful thing here. People search for “Kitec” and miss the other eight names. If a report or a status certificate mentions any of them, it is the same issue.
What I will not tell you
The years it was installed. The official settlement FAQ does not state manufacturing or installation years. The range that circulates everywhere online appears only on contractor blogs, law-firm pages and class-action aggregators. It may well be right. It is not verifiable from a primary source, so it is not going on this page as a fact.
Also not stated on the official site: the specific court approval dates, and the settlement administrator’s corporate name. The site gives only a phone number and an email address.
If you are relying on a date range to decide whether a building could have Kitec, understand what you are relying on. The better approach is to look at the pipe and the fittings, or to ask the condominium corporation directly, rather than to reason from a year.
The practical position today
- The claims deadline passed on 9 January 2020. Whatever the merits, that route is closed and has been for over six years.
- The last status update on the official site is 20 October 2020 — nearly six years stale. Treat the site as a historical record rather than a live process.
- No regulator publishes on it. Kitec is potable-water plumbing, which falls under the Building Code and the plumbing code rather than TSSA or ESA, and no Ontario ministry guidance was found.
- In a condominium, this is a corporation question. Ask what has been identified, what has been replaced, what remains, and how it is being funded. That belongs in your status certificate review.
- In a freehold house, it is a plumbing inspection question. A licensed plumber can identify the pipe and fittings.
The honest summary: a very large product liability settlement existed, it is closed, and beyond that the publicly verifiable record is thin. Anyone giving you confident specifics about years, failure rates or replacement costs is working from sources I could not stand behind, and you should ask them what those sources are.
Kitec has come up on a status certificate or an inspection?
The useful questions here are specific and answerable: in a condominium, what has the corporation identified, what has been replaced, what remains and how is it funded; in a house, what does a licensed plumber actually see. Send me the status certificate or the report and I will tell you what it does and does not establish, and what to ask next. I am not a plumber and identification has to come from one.
connect@jatindua.com · 437-987-1925 · Book a free consultation
Confidential. Read personally and answered within 24 hours. I never share, sell or distribute your information.
Free tool — AI condo value estimator
Condo Valuation
What’s your condo
worth today?
Three quick steps. Condos don’t price like houses — your floor, your view, and whether you own parking move the number more than anything else. This weighs all of them.
Reading recent condo sales…
Estimated market value
—
$0–$0
Most likely $0 · about $0 per square foot
What moved the number
Starting from what comparable units in your area sell for, here’s what your specifics added or subtracted.
Market context
—
—
Two units, same floor plan,
$90,000 apart.
That happens constantly in condos — one has the parking, the right exposure, or a board that keeps the reserve fund healthy. A model can’t see your status certificate. I can.
Frequently asked questions
What was the Kitec settlement?
A products liability settlement with a fund of one hundred and twenty five million United States dollars, approved by the United States District Court for the Northern District of Texas, the Ontario Superior Court of Justice and the Superior Court of Quebec. The official settlement website states the claims deadline was 9 January 2020. Its case status page, last updated 20 October 2020, states that the deadline has passed and the case is in administration, with approximately 10,000 claims received.
Can I still make a Kitec claim?
No. The official settlement website gives the claims deadline as 9 January 2020 and its case status page states that the deadline has passed and the case is in administration. That was more than six years ago as at September 2026.
What brand names are affected?
The official settlement website lists Kitec, PlumbBetter, IPEX AQUA, WarmRite, Kitec XPA, AmbioComfort, XPA, KERR Controls and Plomberie Amelioree, covering PEX-AL-PEX, PE-AL-PE, PERT-AL-PERT, PEX pipe, valves, fittings and components manufactured by or on behalf of IPEX. People searching only for the word Kitec frequently miss the other eight names.
What years was Kitec installed?
This cannot be verified from a primary source. The official settlement website does not state the manufacturing or installation years, and no government or regulator publication on Kitec was located. The year range that circulates online appears only on secondary sources such as contractor blogs, law firm pages and class action aggregators. It is not reproduced here as a fact. A better approach than reasoning from a year is to have the pipe and fittings identified by a licensed plumber, or to ask the condominium corporation directly.
Is there a Health Canada recall on Kitec?
None was located, but that is not the same as confirming there is none. A direct search of the federal recalls and safety alerts database was blocked to automated retrieval by that site’s robots file, so this is a fetch block rather than a confirmed absence. Domain-restricted searches across canada.ca, ontario.ca and the recalls site returned no Kitec-specific result. No Technical Standards and Safety Authority, Electrical Safety Authority or Ontario ministry publication on Kitec was found; Kitec is potable water plumbing, which falls under the Building Code and plumbing code rather than those regulators.
Related reading
- Home inspection in Ontario: still not a licensed profession
- Radon in Ontario homes: the 91-day rule most tests fail
- Asbestos and vermiculite: what the rules actually require
- Knob-and-tube and aluminum wiring: neither is illegal
Sources
Every figure on this page traces to one of these, and each was read on 1 September 2026. Primary sources only — statute, regulation, and the government or agency that administers the rule. Where I could not verify something from a primary source, the page says so instead of guessing.
- Kitec Plumbing System Products Liability Litigation — official settlement website. The court-appointed settlement administrator’s website, read 2 September 2026; the FAQ page carries no date. States a settlement fund of one hundred and twenty five million United States dollars, a claims deadline of 9 January 2020, and approval by the United States District Court for the Northern District of Texas, the Ontario Superior Court of Justice and the Superior Court of Quebec. Products covered include PEX-AL-PEX, PE-AL-PE, PERT-AL-PERT, PEX pipe, valves, fittings and components manufactured by or on behalf of IPEX under the brand names Kitec, PlumbBetter, IPEX AQUA, WarmRite, Kitec XPA, AmbioComfort, XPA, KERR Controls and Plomberie Amelioree. The case status page, last updated 20 October 2020, states that the claims deadline has passed and the case is in administration. Accessed 1 September 2026.
- O. Reg. 163/24, Building Code, under the Building Code Act, 1992. Government of Ontario e-Laws, read 2 September 2026. The current Ontario Building Code, which revoked and replaced O. Reg. 332/12 on 1 January 2025. It adopts the National Building Code of Canada 2020 together with Ontario amendments. Because the technical content is adopted by reference it is not reproduced on e-Laws. Accessed 1 September 2026.
- What to know before buying a home — Government of Ontario. Government of Ontario, page updated 28 July 2026. States that “At this time, Ontario does not have mandatory requirements for home inspectors”, that a home inspection “is not a pass or fail test”, that “an inspector cannot see or find everything” and does not provide warranties or guarantees, and that inspection fees typically range from $350 to $600. Accessed 1 September 2026.
About the author — Jatin Dua, Broker of Record
I’m the Broker of Record at RE/MAX Quantum Realty, 799 The Queensway in Etobicoke, and I work with buyers and sellers across the west GTA. I am not an inspector, an engineer, an electrician or a remediation contractor, and nothing on this page is a substitute for one.
What I can do is read the primary source and quote it accurately. Everything below comes from Health Canada, the Government of Ontario, a regulator or a municipality, with the date the source itself carries, so you can check it rather than take my word for it. Where a widely repeated claim turns out not to be in any official document, the page says so. connect@jatindua.com or 437-987-1925.
